05/14/2009

Prologue

Posted in Stuff n Junk at 10:18 PM by Amy~la

Tomorrow is the long-awaited Friday. I wish I could stay home because I feel like shit and my throat hurts, but I can’t because I have finals tomorrow. Now, I would normally take my final in 1st block, then get checked out, but there is a problem to that plan. Not only do I have a final in 1st block (English) tomorrow, but I also have a final in 4th block (math). So I have a final in my first and last classes.

For part of my English final I have to memorize and recite the prologue to Romeo and Juliet. It is a sonnet, meaning that it is fourteen lines long. That means I had to memorize a Shakespearean sonnet… and I did it in a day! I shall type it here…

“Two households, both alike in dignity
In fair Verona where we lay our scene
From ancient grudge break to new mutiny
Where civil blood makes civil hands unclean.
From forth the fatal loins of these two foes
A pair of star-cross’d lovers take their life.
Whose misadventured piteous overthrows
Doth with their death bury their parents’ strife.
The fearful passage of their death-marked love,
And the continuance of their parents’ rage
Which, but their children’s end naught could remove
Is now the two-hours’ traffic of our stage.
The which of you with patient ears attend,
What here shall miss, our toil shall strive to mend.”

Wow… when I went back to check to see if I got the prologue right, I only had two things wrong. In the fifth line I said “From forth the fatal loins of our two foes” instead of “From forth the fatal loins of these two foes.” The other thing I got wrong was in the last line I said “What shall miss here, our toil shall strive to mend” instead of “What here shall miss, our toil shall strive to mend.” So I think I’m good for the final…

Leave a Reply

